My Mother & Her Cotton Saree!!

A page from her diary...

They called her a saint, but for me, she was my mother. The only mother that I ever had. Not just to myself alone, but to thousands and thousands of people like me who had struggled to survive all their lives, had lived a life unloved, unattended, uncared for!!

Left behind a life full of comfort, she travelled across the seas to live amongst us, in the slums of Calcutta. She showed the world the power of love, kindness and taught us a lesson that changed each life she touched with her compassion.

And all her life  she wore was that simple cotton saree with a blue stripe and an equally humble smile which brought the light of hope and reinforced faith in humanity for many broken souls.

Today, when I drape that saree around my body, somewhere deep within I realise that like any other little girl, I am trying to imitate ‘my mother’!!

While I know that I may not even be close to that grace of her’s, I would be extremely fortunate being the N’th times copied version of her.

Ever wondered what made that ‘call, that had her calling’ to happen? Not sure, but when I read…

Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We have only today. Let us begin.”

or

Every time you smile at someone, it is an action of love, a gift to that person, a beautiful thing.”

I realise that it definitely has my calling!!!

From a resident of Astha, The Old Age Home!!

PC: Pinterest

Author: Shivali

A Counselor, A Research Scholar & A Fitness Enthusiast, Exploring herself on an Inward Journey !!

Would love to hear from you...Leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started